Flashback Friday - 2015 Fri, May 8, 2020 - 4:53 PM

This weeks Throwback Thursday sees has us casting our eyes back half a decade to 2015 and what would turn out to be a magical 5-peat for the South West Football League as they claimed in A section title at the Landmark Country Football Championships.

Matthew Martin and Denholm King both bagged three majors in what turned out to be a comfortable 40 point victory over the South West in the decider. King in the process was awarded the Landmark Medal as Grand Final fairest and best whilst teammate Graham Jetta was awarded the Jock Coleman Medal as fairest and best.

In the B section final Lower South West recorded a thrilling two point win over Great Southern. Robert Dawson was a standout in the decider, awarded the Landmark Medal as the best man afield whilst Great Southern livewire Jayden Woods enjoyed a stellar carnival to be awarded the Bud Byfield Medal. Woods feat was even more remarkable given he had won the C Section Fairest and Best the year prior.

The C section final was a one-sided affair with Ongerup far to strong for Central Wheatbelt, running out 50pt winners. Stanley Long-Turner snagged five majors whilst Ongerup teammates Jayden Brooks and Dylan Gilbert won the Landmark Medal and Jock Beattie Medal as carnival Fairest and best respectively.

A familiar name to all football followers kick start his career at the championships. Claiming the Rising Star award was Great Northern’s Liam Ryan who, fast forward five years, is thrilling fans on the national stage.

In the CBH Group Colts 2015 threw up a curve ball with the traditional colts powerhouse South West missing finishing outside of the top two and missing the Grand Final. Instead it was the Northern Suns who claimed the honours in a thrilling Grand final against Regional Districts.

Great Southern’s Logan Stubber won the Ken Baxter Medal as carnival fairest and best whilst Shannon Broad from the Suns collected the grand final best afield award.

Enter your e-mail and subscribe to our newsletter.