Goldfields go up!

Monday, July 9, 2018 - 10:38 AM

In only their second year back in the Landmark Country Championships the Goldfields have gone one better than 2017 and claimed the Division 2 title with a hard fought 33-point victory over Mortlock.

After an impressive showing last year the Goldfields were determined to go secure promotion to the top flight and that’s exactly what the did, largely on the back of a final term blitz in which they piled on six goals to two.

The first three terms were an arm wrestle and at the final change only eight points separated the two sides thanks largely to Goldfields inaccuracy in front of the big sticks.

After a wayward 6.13 in the first three quarters Goldfields finally had the radar working in the final term as Alex McLeod and Bevan Bennell combined for five majors to take control of the contest and secure the Goldfields return to Division 1.

Goldfields ruckman Alex Stewart was brilliant for the duration of the contest and was fittingly presented with the Landmark trophy as best afield whilst McLeod finished with four majors to be the best forward on the park.

Mortlock duo Zareth Roe and Ben Whitsed toiled hard whilst Dylan Smith was their only multiple goal scorer with two majors. For Whitsed the loss was a disappointing end to a brilliant carnival that saw him presented with the Bud Byfield Trophy as the Fairest and Best player in Division 2.

Whitsed's great carnival saw him named in the Landamrk Allstars alngside James Batterham whilst Goldifelds duo Dylan Clarke and Jordan Delbridge's fantatsic carnivals saw them named in the Allstars as well.

GOLDFIELDS 12.14-86 def MORTLOCK 8.5-53


Goldfields: A McLeod 4, B Bennell 2, G Broughton 2, D Clarke, M Stevens, J Perry, A Devitt

Mortlock: D Smith 2, A Barry, C Sermon, L Indich, G Carter, M Walley, R Ward


Goldfields: A Stewart, J Bootsma, A McLeod, J Swallow

Mortlock: Z Roe, B Whitsed, J Batterham, C Whyte, B Ward

LANDMARK MEDAL (Grand Final BOG) - Alex Stewart, Goldfields