South West back on top

Monday, July 9, 2018 - 9:59 AM

The South West Football League have returned to the pinnacle of WA Country Football after victory in the Division 1 Landmark Country Football Championships decider against Avon on Sunday.

After progressing through the qualifying rounds unbeaten the Green and gold looked primed to atone for the previous two years Grand Finals losses. Standing in their way though were a determined Avon side that put a couple of lean carnivals behind them with an outstanding round of qualifying matches that saw their only loss come at the hands of the South West.

Their ticket to the decider was booked in the final qualifying game of the Championships when the defeated last years champions Peel by two goals.

The final, played in glorious conditions at Claremont Oval, was a chance for Avon to claim their first Division 1 title since 2002 and they bounced out of the blokes with the first major of the game courtesy of Garrick McLaughlin. South West quickly kicked into gear though, slotting the next for majors to take a 17-point lead into the first change.

Both sides kicked a major early in the second term as the game became a real slog fest with neither side able to build any considerable momentum. Eventually South West key forward Leigh Kohlmann found the major opening not long before the break to give his side a four-goal buffer heading into half time.

Neither side were able to make any real impact on the scoreboard after the break with Avon drying up any space the South West midfields previously had around the stoppages. The only goal to either side in the third term came late thanks to former Fremantle midfielder Jesse Crichton to give his side a match winning five goal margin at the final change.

When Sean Lynch kicked his second at the four-minute mark in the final term the game was all but done. Fittingly Crichton kicked the final major of the game in a best on ground performance which saw him awarded with the Landmark Medal.

The South West returned to the winners list with 38-point victory. Kohlmann, Lynch and Crichton all kicked two majors for the victors whilst McLaughlin, Daniel Curtis and Robbie Forrest were Avon’s goal scorers.

Crichton was outstanding and was joined in his sides best by Liam McKenna, Jace Cormack and Matt Michael.

Avon’s best included Nic Taylor, Marcus Ruggiero, James Turner and Haydyn Richards.

The accolades didn’t stop their for the South West either as Jace Cormack was awarded with the Jock Coleman Trophy as Division 1 Fairest and Best player for the Carnival. Coach Jamie Nani received the Dick Smith Coach of the Carnival whilst Cormack, Crichton and Liam McKenna were all named in the Landmark Allstars for the Carnival.


SOUTH WEST 9.6-60 def AVON 3.4-22


South West: S.Lynch 2, J Crichton 2, L Kohlmann 2, B Sanford, G Piggott, J Cormack

Avon: G McLaughlin, D Curtis, R Forrest


South West: J Crichton, L McKenna, J Cormack, M Michael

Avon: N Taylor, M Ruggiero, J Turner, H Richards

LANDMARK MEDAL (Grand Final BOG) - Jesse Crichton, South West

For full carnival results visit: LANDMARK COUNTRY FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIPS 2018