Division 2 Landmark Country Championships - Preview

Tuesday, July 3, 2018 - 11:41 AM

A return to a traditional three division format at the Landmark Country Championships will see an extremely competitive Division 2 competition in 2018.

Last year Central Midlands Coastal claimed their first Division 2 title since a hattrick of titles between 2001 and 2003 when they defeated the returning Goldfields in the decider. Coach Lewis Harvey will have a vastly different side at his disposal however with the departure of State Country duo Rhys Waters and Simon Moore whilst Jayden Magro has also moved on. The trio were all named as Landmark Allstars last season and will take some replacing if the Green and Gold are to make it back to back titles.

Harvey and Co will rely heavily on Daniel Acres (Cervantes), Matt Bogensperger (Jurien Bay) and Trinity Handley (Dandaragan) to lead the charge in the absence of the 2017 stars.

Goldfields fell at the final hurdle in their return to the Country Championships and will be desperate to go one better in 2018. They will need to over come the loss of Captain and dual Bud Byfeild medallist Scott Worthington who is unavailable. His absence though is offset by the inclusion of a trio of big names. Former AFL stars Nathan Krakouer and Greg Broughton join former South Fremantle and Swan Districts half back Kyle Hams in a strong squad. 2017 Allstar Alex Devitt will be a key target up front for the Blue and Gold.

Lower South West return to Division 2 after spending the last two carnivals in the top flight and will be eager to ensure they put their name forward for promotion straight away. A youthful side will take to the park with the likes of McKenzi Nix, Jack Waideman and Callum Jupp names to keep an eye on whilst the experienced duo of Tim Ioannou and Daniel McKinlay are sure to be vital.

2016 Champions Mortlock and Ongerup round out the Division. After finishing in the middle of the pack last year Morlock are looking to recapture their form of two years and will be leaning on 2017 State Country Representative Joel Leeson and the trio of Ben Jenkins, Brad McNeil and Gavin Carter to lead the way for the Black and Red.

Ongerup have floated between the three Divisions in recent years and again bring a side that is full of Landmark Country Championships experience. Captained by State Country Stalwart Luke Bairstow the side includes plenty of match winners in the likes of ruckman Jayden Brooks, Newdegate’s Chris Wollaston and young gun Issac Baum who have all had State Country experience. Veteran Ian Lloyd returns for yet another Countryweek carnival and will be sure to play a vital role across half back again.

Division 2 on paper looks to be one of the most even to date and with all teams facing each other prior to the final on Sunday any two sides are a real chance to take home the title in 2018.

For fixtures and results visit: Landmark Country Champions – Division 2