WA Breaks the Drought!

Monday, July 31, 2017 - 1:30 PM

The New Holland State Country side has tasted victory for the first time in over five years when they defeated South Australia by 40pts at Fremantle Community Bank Oval on Saturday night.

After a tight first half, the hosts went into the main break trailing by nine points. It was a fired up Sandgropers outfit that reemerged after the break and piled on eight goals to nil in a scintillating term of football to all but end the contest by the final change.

Former Fremantle and St Kilda player Brett Peake was outstanding kicking six majors to be awarded the Terry House Medal as best afield for WA. Ruckman Blake Borrett, half backs Matt Buxton,Josh Bootsma and the midfield brigade that included Courtney Lakay, Andrew Haydon, Matt Orzel and Steven Payne all shone in what was a very even team performance.

Peake did the bulk of the damage up forward with support from key forwards Scott Worthington and Joel Houghton also managing two majors apiece.

The game can be viewed at:- 


Western Australia   2.3  5.7 13.9  15.14 (104)

South Australia  1.3  7.4  7.4  10.4 (64)


WA: Peake 6, Worthington, Johnston, Houghton 2, Harvey, A. Russell, Broughton, Waters.                                                                                                                                   SA: Kenny, Simounds 2, Warmington, Willson, Kelly, Yeomans, Martin, Elliott.


WA: Peake, Borrett, Buxton, Lakas, Bootsma, Haydon.
SA: Raikiwasa, Kelly, Combe, Fenton, Willson.

Terry House Medal (WA) – Brett Peake

Barry Stringer Medal (SA) – Aisea Raikiwasa