Peel make it Back to back

Tuesday, July 11, 2017 - 2:24 PM
Share |

The Peel Football and Netball League made it back to back Division 1 Championships when they accounted for the South West in Sundays Final. The two sides met in the final for the second consecutive year after both sides won their two matches in Saturdays round robin format.

Not much separated the two sides in the first term with Peel managing the terms only major courtesy of Kieran May giving them a four-point lead at the first change.

The tight contest continued in the second term with neither side able to hit the scoreboard regularly. One goal a piece is all the sides could muster as the play was contained mainly between the two arcs.

Peel managed to hold sway in the premiership quarter with goals to Division1 Fairest and Best Andrew Haydon and a late goal in time on extending Peels lead to 16 points at the final change.

Any hope of a South West comeback was snuffed out early through majors to Stuart Puls and Ryan Falkstrom all but putting the result to bed. Two late Southwest majors to Aiden Clarke and Brett Peake gave a glimmer of hope though it was too much too late with Peel recoding a 15-point victory, 6.9-45 to 4.6-30.

Courtney Lakay was outstanding through the middle of the ground and was awarded with the Landmark Medal as Best on Ground. He was joined in the best by fellow midfielder Andrew Haydon, who was the stand out player of the carnival, Cameron White, Tyson Phillips and Emmanuel Collard.

The Landmark Carnival Rising Star Aiden Clarke led the way for the South West alongside Blair Della Franca, Mason Hislop, Travis Justins and Michael Russell.


Goals – K May, R Falkstrom, C Smith, S Puls, A Haydon, C Lakay                                                                                           

Best – C Lakay, A Haydon, C White, T Phillips, E Collard.

South West     

Goals – B Peake, P Farrant, J Fontana, A Clarke

Best – A Clarke, B Della Franca, M Hislop, T Justins, M Russell

 (Best on Ground in the Ground Final, Courtney Lakay with WACFL Executive Member John Shadbolt)